1. Skip to Menu
  2. Skip to Content
  3. Skip to Footer


EUREGHA (European Regional and Local Health Authorities) is a key network for the establishment of successful partnership between its members and relevant stakeholders, and plays an influential role at the EU level, giving regional and local authorities a more powerful voice.

EUREGHA is a Brussels based reference network of European Regional and local health authorities. Our mission is to promote collaboration amongst regional and local health authorities in Europe, within the framework of policies relating to public health and health care, as well as to establish focused collaboration with institutions of the EU and other relevant stakeholders.

EUREGHA was established in 2012 by the following founding member regions: Catalonia (ES), East of England (UK), Flanders (BE), Lower Austria (AT), North of England EU Health Partnership (UK), Podlaskie (PL), Skåne (SE), Veneto (IT) and Västra Gotäland (SE). Since the foundation, Emilia-Romagna (IT), the German speaking community of Belgium (BE), Languedoc-Roussillon (FR), Limburg (NE), Region Östergötland (SE), Scotland (UK), Tuscany Region (IT), Vysočina Region (CZ) and Wales (UK) have joined the network.

Active participation in EUREGHA has put many of its members at the frontline and increased their engagement at the EU level. Participation in EU projects, Joint Actions, the European Innovation Partnership on Active and Healthy Ageing, and having a key role as the Secretariat of the Interregional Group on Health and Wellbeing of the Committee of the Regions are only a few tangible examples of where EUREGHA is involved.

EUREGHA brings a critical mass of knowledge and expertise, and encourages diversity with the purpose of “Bringing Regional and Local Authorities together for Better Health”.

EUREGHA's mission is to bring regional and local health authorities together, as a means to improve health policy in Europe. By doing so, EUREGHA establishes and promotes collaboration between its members, the institutions of the European Union, and with pan-European health networks and organisations working with public health and health care. 

EUREGHA aims to accomplish its mission by promoting five crucial values:

  1. Diversity: By Bringing together regional and local health authorities together across Europe, the network offers a unique variety of experiences. 

  2. Participation: EUREGHA strives to involve as many regional and local health authorities as possible. The pro-activity of EUREGHA members constitutes the primary resource of the network.

  3. Transparency: The sharing of information, knowledge and opportunities among all EUREGHA members represents the core of EUREGHA activities.

  4. Collaboration: By promoting cross-border and trans-regional partnerships as a means to improve regional health policies, EUREGHA aims to encourage the creation of new partnerships between regions and relevant stakeholders.

  5. Solidarity: Due to the disparity of resources available to regions and local authorities in relation to their socio-economic characteristics, EUREGHA seeks to involve in its activities the most disadvantaged areas and advocates to reducing health inequalities within and between European countries.

The organisational structure of EUREGHA is the following:

  • The General Assembly is the management organ, and the forum in which EUREGHA's policies are discusses and decided upon by its members.
  • The Executive Board is the implementing organ, and responsible for the decisions to be submitted to the General Assembly.
  • The Chair, Vice-Chairs and the Treasurer are elected for two years. At the General Assembly in April 2016, Chair, Vice-Chairs, Treasurer and Executive Board members were elected for the period 2016-2018.
  • The Secretariat is based in Brussels, and is responsible for the daily management and coordination of the activities of the network.  
Austria Lower Austria Belgium Flanders German-speaking community of Belgium Czech Republic Vysočina Italy Emilia-Romagna Tuscany Veneto Netherlands Limburg Poland Podlaskie Region Spain Catalonia Sweden Skåne Region Östergötland United Kingdom Wales Scotland  Norway Buskerud